Customize and create your own patterns

I’m not a trained artist or fashion designer but I want to share my own design process, my inspirations for my patterns and the one I’m currently working on.  For many years I only followed patterns and didn’t deviate from the instructions, which I think is pretty normal.  Once you have been knitting and are familiar with basic patterns and when to increase/decrease, gauge, measure, block etc. you CAN write your own patterns!

This is going to be a series of posts about how to customize and design your own patterns.  I will also share books and websites that will help with the process.

I would suggest first trying to customize a pattern your already working on, if you’ve never thought about it before, do it!

Here are some ideas:

Change the length or hem, change the ribbing to style you like better, change the neck line of the sweater.

More ideas to come in the next week, I will also be sharing my sweater design project in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

